Governance and Structure

The International Association of Professionals in Humanitarian Assistance and Protection (PHAP) is an independent professional organization. It is governed by the General Assembly of its members which meets at least once a year. The General Assembly has all the powers to achieve the mission of the Association. Among other responsibilities, it appoints the members of the Board of Directors and adopts the PHAP budget and annual accounts. There are two categories of members of the General Assembly: 1) regular members who participate in the General Assembly and have a consultative voice; and 2) governing members who participate in the General Assembly and have voting rights. Governing members are selected among the membership of PHAP by the General Assembly on a proposal from the Board of Directors. Governing members meet regularly in working committees to discuss the policy objectives and standards of the Association, to be adopted by the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors supervises the work of the Association. Its daily management responsibilities are delegated to the PHAP Executive Director, in charge of the Secretariat of the Association. All statutory positions within PHAP are fulfilled on a voluntary basis by members of the Association. All members participate in PHAP governance and activities on a strictly personal basis.


Official bylaws of PHAP aisbl, in French, as adopted by the General Assembly on 25 May 2010. Last modified on 22 June 2016.

Unofficial English translation of the PHAP bylaws

Governance Bodies