The Climate Charter – A Practical Guide: Session 6 The Road to COP27: Strengthening humanitarian perspectives

Over the last few years, we have seen a significant increase in awareness by the humanitarian community of the impacts of the climate crisis and humanitarian engagement in UNFCCC processes. Following on COP26 in Glasgow last year, we saw a far greater presence of humanitarian actors, engaging and raising awareness of the impacts of climate change on the most vulnerable. However, ahead of the 2022 UN Climate Change Conference or COP27, which will take place in Sharm El-Sheikh in November this year, the humanitarian community needs to further articulate its collective role in implementing solutions to the climate crisis. How does COP27 relate to the work of humanitarian actors and how can they engage in the proceedings to make sure that the discussions take into account humanitarian needs?

Commitment #6 of the Climate and Environment Charter encourages humanitarian organizations to use their influence to mobilize urgent and more ambitious climate action and environmental protection. The Charter commits us to work together to foster ambitious action on climate change adaptation and mitigation and to ensure protection of those who are most vulnerable so that they are not left behind. The humanitarian sector is uniquely placed to influence legal and policy frameworks to better channel resources and attention towards vulnerable and at-risk people. We can leverage our presence, expertise, and insight to work with multilateral institutions, governments, and other organizations to ensure that greater focus on the impacts of this crisis on communities and people we serve are taken into consideration at decision-making levels. On 30 June, join us for a webinar on how we can make COP27 an opportunity for this.

This webinar aims to:   

  • Raise awareness of the UNFCC process and the importance of this year’s COP27 and how it links to humanitarian action
  • Discuss why humanitarian organizations need to engage to bring in humanitarian perspectives on the topic of Loss and Damage in the lead-up to COP27
  • Highlight the modalities and strategies for humanitarian NGOs to engage in the preparatory work for COP27

 

Registration form

In case of issues with filling the registration form below, you can also submit your registration via email.

Event time

Thursday, 30 June 2022

New York: 04:00 - 06:00
London: 09:00 - 11:00
Geneva: 10:00 - 12:00
Amman: 11:00 - 13:00
Nairobi: 11:00 - 13:00
Bangkok: 15:00 - 17:00
Manila: 16:00 - 18:00


To see when the live session will take place in your time zone, click here.

Speakers

Nina Birkeland Senior Adviser on Disaster Displacement and Climate Change, Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC)
Kirsten Hagon Senior Analyst, Humanitarian Policy, IFRC
Colin McQuistan Head of Climate and Resilience, Practical Action
Jasmine Moussa Counsellor, Legal and Humanitarian Affairs, Permanent Mission of Egypt in Geneva
Lyndsay Walsh Climate Policy Adviser, Oxfam GB

Co-Facilitators

Nishanie Jayamaha Learning, Program and Climate Change Coordinator, ICVA
Manisha Thomas Senior Policy Advisor, PHAP