City + Refugee Collaboration: An Online Event on Local Partnerships Leading to Global Impact

For the first time in history, there are over 100 million forcibly displaced people around the world. Seventy percent – an estimated 70 million people - are seeking refuge in cities, where they are more likely to find work, access education and healthcare, and regain control over their lives.

While displaced people are seeking refuge in cities, mayors and city governments are taking action to create inclusive, safe, and equitable urban societies for all residents. Often, they do so hand in hand with refugee leaders and refugee-led organizations (RLOs), ensuring that their efforts to build inclusive communities are done in cooperation with refugees themselves. This approach helps cities better match their actions with the needs and preferences of the communities they aim to serve.

On December 7, the Mayors Migration Council and the Bristol City Council, in partnership with key collaborators and with the support of PHAP, are hosting City + Refugee Collaboration: Local Partnerships, Global Impact. The goal of the event is to highlight city government-refugee partnerships as an impactful response to urban displacement and a promising example of development collaboration worthy of international resources and support.

Full event concept note available here.

The webinar will have interpretation in English, French, and Spanish.

Registration form

In case of issues with filling the registration form below, you can also submit your registration via email.

Event time

Wednesday, 7 December 2022

New York: 6:00 - 7:30
London: 11:00 - 12:30
Geneva: 12:00 - 13:30
Amman: 14:00 - 15:30
Nairobi: 14:00 - 15:30
Bangkok: 18:00 - 19:30
Manila: 19:00 - 20:30


To see when the live session will take place in your time zone, click here.

Speakers

Gloria Asiimwe Executive Director, Makasi Rescue Foundation Kampala
Erias Lukwago Lord Mayor, Kampala, Uganda; Mayors Migration Council Leadership Board Member
Fuad Mahamed Chief Executive Officer, ACH United Kingdom, Bristol Ambassador
Sana Mustafa Chief Executive Officer, Asylum Access
Safak Pavey Senior Advisor, UNHCR
Marvin Rees Mayor, Bristol, United Kingdom; Mayors Migration Council Leadership Board Member

Moderator

Samer Saliba Head of Practice, Mayors Migration Council