Revising the Sphere Handbook: What is new and how you can contribute

Register now

Following an intensive initial review process, the first draft of the Sphere Standards 2018 edition is now open for comments and suggestions from practitioners around the world.

To provide an opportunity to learn about the main improvements and how you can contribute to the process, PHAP will host an online briefing session on 27 April. This will be an opportunity to hear directly from the lead chapter authors and the Sphere secretariat and ask questions about the process.

The lead authors and writing teams have been working with their review groups across six chapters to create the framework for the revised standards. The first draft moves the standards from a text-heavy format to a clearer table style which draws out indicators, thresholds, and targets and encourages the reader to think more about context. Common terminology is being used to build greater consistency across chapters. Drivers of future humanitarian response, such as cash transfer programming, urban response, and environmental concerns, are grouped and woven throughout them.

Event time

Thursday, 27 April 2017

New York: 04:00 - 05:30
London: 09:00 - 10:30
Geneva: 10:00 - 11:30
Amman: 11:00 - 12:30
Nairobi: 11:00 - 12:30
Bangkok: 15:00 - 16:30
Manila: 16:00 - 17:30
Sydney: 18:00 - 19:30

To see when the live session will take place in your time zone, click here.

Target audience and event access

The event targets all humanitarian practitioners. In order to join the event, please register in advance at phap.org/27apr2017/register

Register now

Consultation surveys

A survey on specific technical issues identified by the chapter authors at this stage of the revision of the Sphere Handbook is now available online. In addition, a feedback form is also available to provide in a structured way your input on the first draft of the revised Sphere standards.

Survey on key issues

Feedback form

Recommended resources

Speakers

Christine Knudsen

Director, Sphere

Takeshi Komino

General Secretary, Church World Service (CWS) Japan

Catherine Cowley

Protection Mainstreaming Coordinator, Joint Protection Mainstreaming Framework (Caritas Australia, CAFOD, CRS and Trocaire)

 

Kit Dyer

WASH Advisor, Norwegian Church Aid (NCA)

 

Daniel Wanganga

Senior Director of Food Assistance Operations, World Vision International

 

Ela Serdaroglu

Shelter Lead (including Global Shelter Cluster Coordinator), International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)

 

Judith Harvie

Technical Coordinator for the Emergency Response Unit, International Medical Corps (IMC)

 

Paul Wasike

Emergency Nutrition Advisor, Save the Children

Facilitator

Angharad Laing

Executive Director, PHAP

Geneva Humanitarian Connector

This event will be organized in line with the aims of the Geneva Humanitarian Connector, an initiative of PHAP supported by the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.

April 27th, 2017 10:00 AM   through   11:30 AM

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Revising the Sphere Handbook: What is new and how you can contribute


You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.
https://phap.org/civicrm/event/info?id=415&reset=1