12 Dec: PHAP Briefing – Humanitarian Futures

 
PHAP Briefing on 12 December - Humanitarian Futures: Capacities for 21st century humanitarian organizations  
 
 
 
PHAP Online Briefing
Humanitarian Futures: Capacities for
21st century humanitarian organizations

12 December 2017
 
 
Register now
 
Read more
 
The types, dimensions, and dynamics of humanitarian crises are increasing – in some instances exponentially. The challenge for those with humanitarian roles and responsibilities is to have the capacity to deal with ever increasing complexity and uncertainty. A starting point is to appreciate that much of the future will have decreasing links with the past, that planning from the future offers a far more creative way to prepare for dealing with plausible crisis threats of the future.

Taking aim at this challenge, recent work has helped create a new set of tools and resources for enhancing organizational and inter-organizational capability to assess the extent to which organizations’ current thinking and behaviour reflects truly anticipatory and adaptive capacities, embraces new approaches to innovation and innovative practices, and fosters new forms of collaboration and leadership that go well beyond the humanitarian norm.

Join us for the next PHAP Briefing on 12 December for an introduction to “strategic foresight” and to a new set of tools developed for this purpose. Hear from Randolph Kent and Joanne Burke, creators of the Humanitarian Futures Platform, and from Beris Gwynne, Incitāre to learn more about the capacities that can help humanitarian organizations ensure that they are “fit” for the future.
 
Guest experts
 
 
Randolph Kent
Director, Humanitarian Futures Platform
 
Joanne Burke
Project Consultant, Humanitarian Futures Platform
 
Beris Gwynne
Director, Incitāre
 
 
Event time
 
Tuesday, 12 December 2017
New York:   09:00 - 10:15
London:   14:00 - 15:15
Geneva:   15:00 - 16:15
Amman:   16:00 - 17:15
Nairobi:   17:00 - 18:15
Bangkok:   21:00 - 22:15
Manila:   22:00 - 23:15
To see when the live session will take place in your time zone, click here.
 
Register now
 
 
Interview with Randolph Kent:
Understanding Humanitarian Futures
 
As an introduction to this online session, PHAP had the opportunity to speak with Randolph Kent about the concept of “humanitarian futures” and how it is being used by actors in the sector. You can now read his interview at phap.org/12dec2017-interview.
 
 
 
This event is made possible as part of the Geneva Humanitarian Connector, an initiative of PHAP supported by the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.