9 Feb: The language and logic of IHL – Common misconceptions, use, and misuse

 
Online Learning Series on Humanitarian Law and Policy on 9 February - The language and logic of IHL: Common misconceptions, use, and misuse  
 
 
 
Online Learning Series on Humanitarian Law and Policy
The language and logic of IHL:
Common misconceptions, use, and misuse

9 February 2018
 
 
Register now
 
Read more
 
International humanitarian law (IHL) is a key framework for everyone operating in situations of armed conflict. A wide range of terms, such as "indiscriminate and disproportionate attack," "military objective," "civilians," and "military necessity," commonly used by humanitarian practitioners and others working in armed conflict situations, actually carry very specific legal meaning under IHL. However, when outside a formal legal setting, those words may be used for different purposes by multiple actors, leading to odd and potentially damaging distortions, such as when speaking of "innocent civilians."

Join us on Friday, 9 February for this online learning session that will explore some of the pitfalls behind the misconceptions and misuses of certain IHL terms and discuss the potential consequences for humanitarian work.
 
Speaker
 
 
Théo Boutruche
Humanitarian Law and Policy Course Director, PHAP
Dr Théo Boutruche has worked for various organizations in the field of IHL and human rights law, such as the International Commission of Jurists, Amnesty International, the ICTJ, the Norwegian Refugee Council, Freedom from Torture, Diakonia, REDRESS, Save the Children and the OHCHR. He has conducted legal research and fact-finding missions in conflict and post-conflict settings such as Palestine, Lebanon, Iraq, Georgia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, and Kenya.
 
 
Event time
 
Friday, 9 February 2018
New York:   09:00 - 10:00
London:   14:00 - 15:00
Geneva:   15:00 - 16:00
Amman:   16:00 - 17:00
Nairobi:   17:00 - 18:00
Bangkok:   21:00 - 22:00
Manila:   22:00 - 23:00
To see when the live session will take place in your time zone, click here.
 
Register now